Higgins, Maxwell Highlight Bears’ NEWA Postseason Award Winners

Higgins, Maxwell Highlight Bears’ NEWA Postseason Award Winners

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. – Bridgewater State University freshman heavyweight Ryan Higgins (Billerica, Mass.) and sophomore 165-pounder Fox Maxwell (Wilmington, Mass.) were each named as honorable mention selections on the 2018-2019 All-New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) Team as the NEWA Season Awards were announced today.

Higgins, who was also named to the NEWA All-Rookie Team, posted a record of 27-10 (.730) during his freshman campaign with eight pins, 67 takedowns, 16 near falls and 24 escapes. The Billerica, Massachusetts product placed seventh at the NCAA Division III Northeast Regional Wrestling Championships to earn All-Northeast Region honors.

A native of Wilmington, Massachusetts, Maxwell went 23-13 (.639) with a pair of pins, 40 takedowns, 50 near falls and 48 escapes in 2018-2019. He also garnered All-Northeast Region honors as he placed eighth at the regional championships.

BSU sophomores Wilfredo David (Chicopee, Mass.), Daniel MacNeil (Woburn, Mass.), Chris Roppolo (Bridgewater, Mass.) and James Wright (Boylston, Mass.) as well as freshman Andrew Lopez (Billerica, Mass.) were each selected to the All-NEWA Academic Team. To be eligible for All-NEWA Academic Team honors, student-athletes must maintain at least a 3.2 grade point average and be nominated by their head coach.

2018-2019 NEWA Season Awards (PDF)