Class of 2013 Inducted into the BSU Athletics Hall of Fame

Class of 2013 Inducted into the BSU Athletics Hall of Fame

By Dave Wilson, BSU Office of University News

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- Four former outstanding student athletes, the basketball coach with the most wins in BSU history, a former director of athletics renowned for his ability to build a first-rate athletic program, and a sports writer for the region’s largest daily newspaper who has covered Bridgewater teams for more than thirty years were honored at the annual Athletic Hall of Fame Induction and Banquet.

President Dana Mohler-Faria welcomed the audience of more than 300 to the Campus Center Ballroom by telling them “how very proud we are of the men and women whom we will honor this evening for they represent the best traditions of excellence which we all aspire to emulate.”

Mike Storey, the veteran associate director of athletics and chairman of the committee which chooses inductees, served as master of ceremonies for the event. Dr. Mary Beth Lamb, director of athletics and recreation, brought greetings as well.

The “Crimson and White Award” was presented to Jim Fenton, sports writer for The Enterprise, who was introduced by Mr. Storey as “a long-time supporter and friend of the Bridgewater State University Department of Athletics who has been covering varsity sports at BSU since 1981.”

The four alumni who were inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame were Lynne Bennett, a star of the field hockey team from 1981 to 1984; Craig Buckley, a two-time All-American wrestler at BSU from 2001 to 2004; Kelsey Collasius, a four-year starter on the Bears’ volleyball team from 2004 to 2007; and Brenden Kavey, a football player described by Mr. Storey as “one of the top running backs in the history of BSU” during his years as a Bear, from 2002 to 2005.

Also inducted was Joe Farroba, who was introduced by Mr. Storey as “the all-time winningest coach in Bridgewater State University men’s basketball history.” To date, Mr. Farroba, now in his 22nd year, has compiled a record of 299 wins versus 256 losses.

John Harper, who spent 21 years as the director of athletics and recreation, beginning in 1991, was also inducted. ”Under his leadership, the BSU athletics program flourished with highly competitive teams and dramatically upgraded facilities, including Alumni Park, the Tinsley Athletic Center, and Swenson Field,” Mr. Storey said. During his years as director of athletics, Bridgewater won the coveted Smith Cup 11 times from the Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference which goes annually to the top MASCAC program.