Wysong Leads Men’s Cross Country at NEICAAA Championships

Wysong Leads Men’s Cross Country at NEICAAA Championships

DORCHESTER, Mass. – Junior Trevor Wysong (Taunton, Mass.) placed seventh out of a field of 171 runners to lead the Bridgewater State University men's cross country team at the New England Intercollegiate Amateur Athletic Association (NEICAAA) Championships held on Saturday at Franklin Park.

Wysong covered the eight-kilometer course in a time of 25:11.21 as he finished second among Division III harriers. Senior Leakey Kipkosgei of Division II AIC won the men's race with a time of 24:08.79. Senior Sean MacDonald of Bowdoin College was the top Division III runner as posted a time of 25:04.45.

Junior Joshua Higgins (Fitchburg, Mass.) was next across the line for the Bears as he placed 104th overall with a time of 26:57.09. Higgins was followed by senior Joseph Keough (Walpole, Mass.) in 106th place (26:58.49).

The Bears finished 20th in the team standings. UMass Amherst captured the team title followed by Northeastern University in second place and MIT in third.

Next weekend, the BSU cross country teams will compete at the Western New England Invitational.