Bridgewater State Captures Howard C. Smith Cup

Bridgewater State Captures Howard C. Smith Cup

BUZZARDS BAY, Mass. -- Bridgewater State University has claimed the 2012-2013 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Howard C. Smith Cup that is awarded annually to the member institution which compiles the most points based on the placement of each of its programs competing in the 15 league championship sports, as the Bears took the title for the second straight year.

The Smith Cup is named in honor of former Massachusetts State College Trustee Howard C. Smith, who in 1970, urged the athletic directors of the eight State Colleges to hold a series of meetings to discuss the possibility of forming an intercollegiate conference. In June of 1971, Smith’s dream became a reality as an affirmative agreement was reached and the MASCAC was created.

Bridgewater State captured 77.4 percent (114.67 points) of a possible 148 points to top runner-up Westfield State University, which claimed 70.4 percent (112.67 points) of a possible 160 points to finish second. Worcester State University finished in third place with 58.5 percent (93.67 points) of a possible 160 points, while Framingham State University was next in fourth place after garnering 53.1 percent (78.67 points) of a possible 148 points.

Salem State University followed in fifth place by earning 50.1 percent (68.1 points) of a possible 136 points, while Fitchburg State University (61.17 points) was next in sixth place after earning 41.3 percent of a possible 148 points. MCLA finished in seventh place after garnering 35 of a possible 100 points for 35.0 percent, while Massachusetts Maritime rounded out this year’s standings after earning 24.1 percent (27 points) of a possible 112 points.

“The commitment to success, both in competition and in the classroom, that our student-athletes display on a daily basis is embodied in winning this year’s Smith Cup,” Bridgewater State Director of Athletics Dr. Marybeth Lamb said of the honor. “I am so proud of our student-athletes, coaches and staff for this great achievement--this was truly a team effort in so many ways.”

The Bears captured MASCAC regular season titles in field hockey, men’s cross country, women’s basketball, softball, women’s lacrosse and men’s outdoor track and field.

Bridgewater State has now won outright or shared the Smith Cup 13 times, including 10 over the last 16 years. Salem State has won or shared 19 of the 41 Smith Cups overall, while Westfield State has won or shared 10 Smith Cup crowns overall.

“I would like to congratulate Bridgewater State’s student-athletes and staff on all of their athletic achievements during this year’s Howard C. Smith Cup race,” MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann said. “The Bears enjoyed another great year in winning six MASCAC regular season championships, and their success is a testament to the hard work and dedication displayed by all student-athletes in our conference.”

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University will join the league as an affiliate member in the sport of football for the 2013-14 academic year.

Courtesy of Jim Seavey, MASCAC Director of Media Relations