MASCAC Spring Sportsmanship Teams Announced

MASCAC Spring Sportsmanship Teams Announced

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- Thirty-four Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) student-athletes have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as members of the 2015 Spring Sportsmanship Teams.

The MASCAC Sportsmanship Teams recognize student-athletes and coaches who display outstanding sportsmanship on and off the field. As an important piece of the MASCAC and NCAA philosophy, the representatives on the team display what it means to have good sportsmanship in the MASCAC.

The sports that are represented on the spring team are baseball, women’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s outdoor track and field and softball.

A student-athlete from each institution is selected by their coach to be placed on the sport they compete in Sportsmanship Team. Joining the student-athletes is also a coach who was voted on by their peers to be the Sportsmanship Coach of the Year for their respective sport.

Anthony Deleo of Bridgewater State, Clayton Beaulieu of Fitchburg State, Kevin Driscoll of Framingham State, Alon Willing of MCLA, Alex Rozak of Massachusetts Maritime, Josh Creamer of Salem State, Peter Cassidy of Westfield State and Jeff Bolio of Worcester State were named to the Sportsmanship Team for baseball. Westfield State’s Nathan Bashaw was voted as the Baseball Sportsmanship Coach of the Year.

On the women’s lacrosse team, Katharine Trahan of Bridgewater State, Ali Laferriere of Fitchburg State, Lindsay Nixon of Framingham State, Leah Sullivan of MCLA, Deb Langley of Massachusetts Maritime, Katie Hart of Salem State, Stephanie Godek of Westfield State and Amanda Pruyn of Worcester State take home the sportsmanship honor. Westfield State’s Jeff Pechulis was picked as the Sportsmanship Coach of the Year for the squad.

Headlining the Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Sportsmanship Team are Connor Foley of Bridgewater State, Michael Martin of Fitchburg State, Sam Hill of Massachusetts Maritime, John Tomlin of Westfield State and Robert White of Worcester State. Bridgewater State’s TJ Smith earned the Sportsmanship Coach of the Year accolades.

Ariele Krevosky of Bridgewater State, Arthina Robert of Fitchburg State, Emma Ethier of Massachusetts Maritime, Ashley Craig of Westfield State and Alana Fish of Worcester State are the Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Sportsmanship Team honorees. Bridgewater State’s Amy Delgado was voted as the Sportsmanship Coach of the Year for the squad.

Rounding out the sportsmanship squads is softball where Kelly McCarthy of Bridgewater State, Brittany Whiting of Fitchburg State, Marissa Flynn of Framingham State, Amanda Meczywor of MCLA, Meghan Weir of Massachusetts Maritime, Jenn Toussaint of Salem State, Kat Robinson of Westfield State and Alyssa Hill of Worcester State are recognized. Massachusetts Maritime’s Megan Giammalvo earned the Sportsmanship Coach of the Year honors for softball.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.