MASCAC Winter Sportsmanship Teams Announced

MASCAC Winter Sportsmanship Teams Announced

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- Twenty-nine Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) student-athletes have been recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship as members of the 2016 Winter Sportsmanship Team.

The MASCAC Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes and coaches who display outstanding sportsmanship on and off the field. As an important piece of the MASCAC and NCAA philosophy, the representatives on the team display what it means to have good sportsmanship in the MASCAC.

The sports that are represented on the winter team are men’s and women’s basketball, men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s indoor track and field.

A student-athlete from each institution is selected by their coach to be placed on the Sportsmanship Team. Joining the student-athletes is also a coach who was voted on by their peers to be the Sportsmanship Coach of the Year for their respective sport.

Greg Romanko of Bridgewater State, Anthony Muccioli of Fitchburg State, Patrick Gould of Framingham State, Paul Maurice of MCLA, Dennis Bailer of Salem State, Jose Allen of Westfield State and Manny Cabral of Worcester State received Men’s Basketball Sportsmanship Team accolades. Anthony Skiffington of MCLA claims the Men’s Basketball Sportsmanship Coach of the Year accolades.

In women’s basketball, Jennie Lindland of Bridgewater State, Tori Cyrus of Fitchburg State, Lauren Donahue of Framingham State, Courtney Pingelski of MCLA, Tahira Peralta of Salem State, Kierra McCarthy of Westfield State and Natasha Gonzalez of Worcester State earn sportsmanship honors. Michelle Cunningham of Salem State was selected as the Women’s Basketball Sportsmanship Coach of the Year.

Headlining the Men’s Ice Hockey Sportsmanship Team are Nat Rojas of Fitchburg State, Vaughn Guetens of Framingham State, Erik Strom of Plymouth State, Mike Restuccia of UMass Dartmouth, Brandon Platt of Salem State, Dalton Jay of Westfield State and Drew Case of Worcester State. William O’Neill of Salem State earned the Men’s Ice Hockey Sportsmanship Coach of the Year honors.

Michael Kotleski of Bridgewater State, Richard Ethier IV of Fitchburg State, Travon Godette of Westfield State and Adam Scerra of Worcester State are the Men’s Indoor Track and Field Sportsmanship Team honorees while T.J. Smith of Bridgewater State is the Men’s Indoor Track and Field Sportsmanship Coach of the Year.

Closing out the winter sportsmanship team honorees is Women’s Indoor Track and Field with Amanda Lane of Bridgewater State, Amanda Remie of Fitchburg State, Naloti Palma of Westfield State and Danielle Cote of Worcester State. Sharing the Women’s Indoor Track and Field Sportsmanship Coach of the Year are Amy Delgado of Bridgewater State and Jamie Aubuchon of Fitchburg State.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men’s ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.