54 Winter Student-Athletes Earn MASCAC All-Academic Honors

54 Winter Student-Athletes Earn MASCAC All-Academic Honors

Winter 2010-2011 MASCAC All-Academic Team

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- Fifty-Four Bridgewater State University student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league’s Winter 2010-2011 All-Academic Team that was released by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the nine MASCAC institutions during the course of the recently completed winter sports season, and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the most recent academic semester, are eligible for selection to the Winter All-Academic Team.

Westfield State University placed the most student-athletes on the Winter 2010-2011 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 77, while Bridgewater State and Fitchburg State University (49) followed.

“I want to congratulate all of our member schools on having such a tremendous number of student-athletes honored on the Winter MASCAC All-Academic Team,” Commissioner Baumann said of this year’s squad. 

“The commitment to the all-around development of our student-athletes both in the classroom and in competition is something that our schools take great pride in," Baumann added, "and the success that MASCAC student-athletes have achieved in the classroom is testament to that commitment.”

Entering its 39th year of existence, the Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference is comprised of eight NCAA Division III member institutions:  Bridgewater State College, Fitchburg State College, Framingham State College, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State College, Westfield State College and Worcester State College.  Two other NCAA Division III member schools, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sport of men's ice hockey.