2014 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

2014 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- The Bridgewater State University Athletics and Recreation Department held its 28th Annual All Sports Banquet on Tuesday, May 6th, honoring various teams and players.

President Dana Mohler-Faria was on hand to present the Dr. Adrian Tinsley Scholar Athlete of the Year awards to Amber White (softball) and David Elofson (swimming & diving).

Former Director of Athletics, John Harper, returned to present the John C. Harper Athlete of the Year awards to standouts Jenna Williamson (tennis/basketball) and Ricky Caruso (wrestling).

Other major award winners were Rookies of the Year, Lauren Geary (lacrosse) and Paul Sughrue (wrestling); Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award recipients, Tatyana Belizaire (basketball) and Jose Polanco (baseball); Athletic Trainers of the Year, Brian Fallon (undergraduate) and Meredith Curry (graduate); and the Student-Athlete Leadership Award recipient, Taylor Clancy (lacrosse/cross country/track & field).

Also honored were more than 150 student-athletes who maintained at least a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or who earned Dean’s List honors for the fall 2013 semester.  The 2013-14 team captains and senior student-athletes/trainers were honored as well.

Williamson and teammate Elisha Homich (basketball) were presented with milestone basketballs for scoring their 1,000th career points this past season. Williamson finished with 1,365 career points as she is the program's all-time leading score.  Homich is ninth all-time with 1,090 points.

Melanie Appleman (volleyball), Danielle Dean (volleyball) and Kristen Robillard(volleyball) were also presented with milestone volleyballs.  Appleman recorded her 2,000th career assist, Dean reached the 1,000-dig milestone, and Robillard notched the 1,000th dig of her BSU career. Appleman is fourth all-time in program history with 2,107 assists, while Robillard (1,411) and Dean (1,152) rank third and seventh, respectively, in digs.

Head coaches Rick Smith (baseball) and Joe Farroba (basketball) were honored for reaching victory milestones.  Smith (511-293-5, .635), the all-time winningest coach in BSU athletics history, recorded win #500 in March.  Farroba (315-270, .538) picked up win #300 last November.    

Also in attendance were Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Jason Pina, who presented the Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award, and Associate Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Catherine Holbrook, who presented the Rookie of the Year awards.

Director of Athletics Dr. Marybeth Lamb, who emceed the ceremonies, announced that Bridgewater State captured the prestigious Howard C. Smith Cup for the third straight year and 13th time overall.  The Smith Cup is awarded annually to the MASCAC institution which compiles the most points based on the placement of each of its programs competing in the 15 league championship sports.

Athletics Banquet Annual Award Winners (1986 to Present)

2014 Athletics Awards Banquet Program (PDF)