Men's Tennis Downs UMass to Win 5th Straight Match

Men's Tennis Downs UMass to Win 5th Straight Match

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. -- Visiting Bridgewater State College won a close match at number two doubles, then won four of the six singles matches to defeat the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth's men's tennis team, 6-3 , in a Little East Conference match at the UMass Dartmouth Athletic Complex Tuesday afternoon.

Matt Charest, Barry Gorman and Giovanni Cuscina swept the top three singles matches for BSC. Charest breezed to a 6-0, 6-1 straight set win over UMD's Christoph Forster in the top flight match.  Gorman, winner of 12 straight matches, knocked off Dave Gogoi, 6-2, 6-0.  Cuscina also won in straight sets defeating Kin Sims, 6-0, 6-4.

Gorman and Brendon Barbo of the Bears defeated UMass Dartmouth's Trevor and Nolan Blier, 9-7 at number two doubles.  Josh McCoy and Andrew Zappala downed BSC's pairing of Gonzalo Gomez and Jonathan Bouchard at number three doubles, 8-2.

McCoy and Zappala also won in singles. McCoy defeated Gomez at number four, 6-1, 7-6, winning the second set in a tie-breaker by a 9-7 score. Zappala downed Barbo at number five, 3-6, 6-2, (10-2), winning a super-tiebreaker for the third set.

The Corsairs dropped to 2-7 and 1-5 in the Little East Conference with the defeat, while the Bears won their fifth consecutive match and improved to 7-5 and 3-3 with the victory. UMass Dartmouth will return to action when they visit Eastern Nazarene Wednesday afternoon. Bridgewater will return to action when they host the Little East Conference Championships this weekend.



1. Matt Charest (BSC) def. Christoph Forster (UMD) 6-0, 6-1

2. Barry Gorman (BSC) def. Dave Gogoi (UMD) 6-2, 6-0

3. Giovanni Cuscina (BSC) def. Ken Sims (UMD) 6-0, 6-4

4. Josh McCoy (UMD) def. Gonzalo Gomez (BSC) 6-1, 7-6 (9-7)

5. Andrew Zappala (UMD) def. Brendon Barbo (BSC) 3-6, 6-2, 10-2

6. Justin Lipomi (BSC) def. Alex Samoiloff (UMD) 7-5, 6-2



1. Matt Charest/Giovanni Cuscina (BSC) def. Christoph Forster/Ken Sims (UMD) 8-3

2. Barry Gorman/Brendon Barbo (BSC) def. Nolan Blier/Trevor Blier (UMD) 9-7

3. Josh McCoy/Andrew Zappala (UMD) def. Gonzalo Gomez/Jonathan Bouchard (BSC) 9-8 (3-7)