2013 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

2013 BSU Athletics Awards Banquet

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- The Bridgewater State University Athletics and Recreation Department held its 27th Annual All Sports Banquet on Tuesday, May 7th, honoring various teams and players.

President Dana Mohler-Faria was on hand to present the Dr. Adrian Tinsley Scholar Athlete of the Year awards to Molly Rouillard (cross country/track & field) and Stephen Wahome (cross country/track & field).

Former Director of Athletics, John Harper, returned to present the John C. Harper Athlete of the Year awards to standouts Shelby Farland (lacrosse/field hockey) and Michael McPherson (track & field).

Other major award winners were Rookies of the Year, Riley Cachelin (lacrosse), Alison Vautrin (tennis), and Kolin Campbell (soccer); Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award recipients, Cassie Johansen (field hockey) and David Phipps (cross country/track & field); Athletic Trainers of the Year, Michael Diago (undergraduate) and Kenneth Hoefs (graduate); and the Student-Athlete Leadership Award recipients, Megan Cullinane (field hockey/track & field) and Andrew Corley (track and field).

Farland and Cachelin were presented their awards in a team ceremony up in Brunswick, Maine as the BSU women’s lacrosse team is preparing for tomorrow’s NCAA Division III Tournament game against Bowdoin College.

Also honored were more than 150 student-athletes who maintained at least a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or who earned Dean’s List honors for the fall 2012 semester.  The 2012-13 team captains and senior student-athletes/trainers were honored as well.

Michaela Cosby (basketball) was presented with a milestone basketball for scoring her 1,000th career point this past season. Michaela finished with 1,092 career points as she is seventh all-time in program history.

Also in attendance were Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Jason Pina, who presented the Lee Harrington Unsung Hero Award, and Associate Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Catherine Holbrook, who presented the Rookie of the Year awards.

Director of Athletics Dr. Marybeth Lamb, who emceed the ceremonies, announced that Bridgewater State captured the prestigious Howard C. Smith Cup for the second straight year and 13th time overall.  The Smith Cup is awarded annually to the MASCAC institution which compiles the most points based on the placement of each of its programs competing in the 15 league championship sports.

Athletics Banquet Annual Award Winners (1986 to Present)

2013 Athletics Awards Banquet Program (PDF)